Video: 2012 ACC Football Legends Class

Greensboro, N.C. (–Led by two members of the College Football Hall of Fame in former Miami defensive end Ted Hendricks (Miami Springs, Fla.) and former Duke guard Mike McGee (Elizabeth City, N.C.) and former ACC Players of the Year Frank Quayle (Garden City, N.Y.) of Virginia and Torry Holt (Gibsonville, N.C.) of NC State, the ACC Monday announced its Class of 2012 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game Legends.

The Legends will be honored at this year’s Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game weekend. They will be honored at the ACC Night of Legends sponsored by the Belk Bowl on Friday, Nov. 30, and on Dec. 1, during ceremonies at Bank of America Stadium for the 8th Annual Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship, which will be nationally televised with either a 7:45 pm (ESPN) or 8 p.m. (ABC) kickoff.

The group of 12 former gridiron standouts from current ACC schools includes three former ACC Football Players of the Year, six consensus first-team All-Americas, seven first-team All-Americas, and 10 players who combined for 84 years in the National Football League. Eleven of the Legends were drafted into the NFL, including eight first- or second-round draft choices.

A total of six of the 12 honorees were members of the ACC’s 50th Anniversary team which selected the league’s Top 50 players of its first 50 years in 2003.

Two of the honorees, McGee (1960) and Quayle (1969), were also named the winner of the ACC’s McKevlin Award which is presented annually to the Conference’s top overall athlete.

In all, the collection of players combined for three national championships, six ACC Championships, 10 NFL Super Bowl appearances and nine NFL Super Bowl titles.

Joining this quartet are Boston College offensive guard Bob Hyland (White Plains, N.Y.), the Eagles first lineman to be taken in the first round of the NFL Draft; Clemson tight end Bennie Cunningham (Seneca, S.C.), a consensus first-team All-America for the Tigers in 1974; Florida State linebacker Sam Cowart (Jacksonville, Fla.), a consensus first-team All-America for the Seminoles in 1997; and Georgia Tech safety Ken Swilling (Toccoa, Ga.), a consensus first-team All-America for the Jackets’ 1990 National Championship team.

Completing the ACC Football Legends Class of 2012 are Maryland’s Chet “The Jet” Hanulak (Hackensack, N.J.), an All-America running back off the Terrapins’ 1953 National Champions; North Carolina’s Dre’ Bly (Chesapeake, Va.), a two-time consensus first-team All-America and one of the top cover cornerbacks in league history; Virginia Tech defensive back Pierson Prioleau (Alvin, S.C.), an All-America defensive back for the Hokies in the late 1990s and Wake Forest’s Ed Stetz (Johnstown, Pa.), two-time All-ACC linebacker and defensive stalwart for the Demon Deacons’ 1970 ACC Championship team.

Leave a Reply