Lamar Jackson Wins AP College Football Player of the Year


The accolades just keep on rolling in for Louisville sophomore quarterback Lamar Jackson.

The newest member of the Heisman Trophy fraternity earned yet another set of accolades this week, as he was voted as an Associated Press First-Team All-American at quarterback, in addition to being named as the Associated Press’ College Football Player of the Year on Tuesday afternoon.

Jackson received 42 of a possible 61 first-place votes from the AP’s voting panel, and earned 153 points overall to win the Player of the Year Award. Jackson was not the only ACC player to be considered, as Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson, as expected, finished second in the AP Player of the Year voting, receiving 73 points in the process.

Jackson throttled opponents to a tune of 3,390 yards passing for 30 touchdowns to only nine interceptions. He used his feet effectively as well, becoming one of the most dynamic players in the country by rushing for 1,538 yards and 21 touchdowns.

The spectacular play on the field led to Jackson being named the youngest Heisman Trophy winner in the award’s storied history on Saturday, in addition to his newest award as the AP College Football Player of the Year.

Jackson and his team will take the field once more to wrap up the 2016-17 season, as they face off against LSU in the Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl on December 31st. Kickoff is slated for 11:00 AM ET and the game will be broadcast on ABC.


Thanks for reading everyone! Follow me on Twitter @MikeMcDanielACC and check out InsideTheACC on Facebook and on Twitter @InsideTheACC.

Leave a Reply