Louisville Quarterback Lamar Jackson Wins Heisman Trophy

It was quite anti-climatic, wasn’t it?

In a winning result that seemingly was a long-time coming considering his play all season, Louisville sophomore quarterback Lamar Jackson was named the winner of the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night.

Jackson took the award over four other finalists, including Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson, Michigan linebacker Jabrill Peppers, and the duo from Oklahoma in quarterback Baker Mayfield and wide receiver Dede Westbrook.

Jackson torched opponents seemingly all season long, passing for 3,390 yards and 30 touchdowns to only nine interceptions. In addition, Jackson rushed for 1,538 yards and 21 touchdowns, with his 51 total touchdowns ranking first in all of college football.

As evidenced by his statistics, Jackson really has been the complete package when considering the best player in the nation during the 2016-17 season.

With the Heisman Trophy award, Jackson becomes the first player in Louisville history to capture the trophy given to the nation’s best player. In addition, Jackson became the first ACC player to win the Heisman that wasn’t a quarterback from Florida State.

The Seminoles of course, produced the prior three ACC winners of the award prior to Saturday, in quarterbacks Charlie Ward (1993), Chris Weinke (2000), and Jameis Winston (2013).

Jackson and his #13 Louisville Cardinals will play the #20 LSU Tigers in the Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl. Kickoff is slated for 11:00 AM ET on December 31st and will be broadcast on ABC.


Thanks for reading everyone! Follow me on Twitter @MikeMcDanielACC and check out InsideTheACC on Facebook and on Twitter @InsideTheACC.

Leave a Reply