ACC announces male and female athletes of the year

The ACC announced it’s male and female athletes of the year with Duke football’s Laken Thompson on the men’s side and Virginia women’s soccer star Morgan Brian.

Tomlinson helped lead Duke to a school record third consecutive bowl game and was the first Blue Devil football player to be named to multiple All-America teams since 2000. He was an All-ACC selection for the second straight season and was named to the All-ACC Academic team four times. Tomlinson was one of the best offensive lineman in the nation last season which led to him being selected 28th overall in the NFL Draft by the Detroit Lions this past spring — the highest a Duke player has been drafted since 1987.

Brian is only the second Virginia athlete to win this award joining basketball alumnus Dawn Staley who won in 1991 and 1992. Brian also became just the fourth person to win the MAC Hermann Trophy as national player of the year in consecutive years after winning again this season. Her list of accolades also includes being named a three-time NSCAA first-team All-American and four-time first-team All-ACC selection. Brian is currently a member of the U.S. Women’s National Team and is coming off a strong performance against China to help the team to the World Cup semifinal tonight against Germany. Coverage starts at 6 p.m. and the game will kick off at 7 p.m. on FOX.

Leave a Reply